This year’s Doddridge County Citizen of the Year Ceremony will be held on Saturday, September 16, at 5:00pm, at the Doddridge County Park in the upstairs of the main building. The event will begin with a social hour, which will start at 4:00pm. Light refreshments will be available at that time.
The Doddridge County Citizen of the Year Committee is in charge of selecting this year’s winner, but would like to have input from the citizens of Doddridge County. They would like for interested citizens to make nominations and mail them to Lewis Swann at 2580 Miletus Road, Salem, WV 26426, so that he receives them by August 31, 2023. Anyone can be a nominator! If you would like to nominate someone, please include 1) The name of the person that you would like to nominate, 2) The reason(s) you are nominating them, and 3) Your contact information so that we can contact you and the contact information of your nominee, in case your nominee is chosen. A Doddridge County Citizen of the Year can either be a current citizen of Doddridge County that has made a notable positive impact in our county or a former Doddridge County citizen that grew up in our county and later moved on to accomplish great things and/or make a notable positive impact elsewhere.
See below for a list of previous winners.
Past Winners:
2006 General John B. Craddock —
2007 Cathy Travis McClain —
2008 Susan Robinson Fruchtl —
2009 Rex Zickefoose —
2010 Robert Currey —
2011 Paul McCutchan —
2012 Larry Cottrill —
2013 Coach Craig Kellar–
2014 Betty Merritt —
2015 David K. Kelley —
2016 Cline and Betty Stansberry —
2017 Dr. Arthur Calhoun —
2018 Michael Davis —
2019 — Mrs. Eleanor Nicholson —
2020 Gordon Edgell —
2021 Pastor Denver L. Burnside —
2022 Orma Lou Yeater —