Doddridge County Schools Teacher Of The Year

Doddridge County Superintendent Adam Cheeseman announced each school’s Teacher of the Year award. The winning instructors were Melissa Smith from the Elementary School, Alan Snodgrass from the Middle School and Kaylee Kirkpatrick from the High School. The honoree is chosen by their peers and each will be considered for the countywide Teacher of the Year Award. In making the announcement Mr. Cheeseman said, “These three teachers have been chosen because of their dedication, their creativity and their care for our students. They represent the best of Doddridge County Schools, and I am proud of each of them.”

   Kaylee Kirkpatrick teaches 9th grade English, Honors English, and Creative writing at the High School. She said “This award is extra special to me because, within my school, there are more hard working, compassionate, incredible teachers than I can count; to be chosen by them really feels validating. I truly love what I do, and it is always a plus to be recognized for the work!”

Kaylee Kirkpatrick

    Alan Snodgrass teaches 8th grade West Virginia Studies at the Middle School. He said, “This award is truly an honor because I work at a school in the best county in West Virginia. Surrounded by a wonderful team at DCMS, they have challenged me to become a better teacher and colleague. Our students, administration, and staff have manifested many successes at DCMS, and I am proud to be part of this journey. This award exemplifies the great things we are cultivating at DCMS.”

Alan Snodgrass

  Melissa Smith teaches 1st grade at Doddridge County Elementary School. She said, “It is a humble honor to be selected to be in the same category with educators that I have had the pleasure to learn from. I would not be where I am today without the leadership and effort that I have received from my peers and my administration. Without them guiding me to fulfill my duties as an educator by continuing to learn and teach outside the box I may not have been able to provide opportunities for my students to grow. It is a true accolade to receive this award and I appreciate my colleagues for seeing my dedication as a professional in our field.”

Melissa Smith

   The countywide Teacher of the Year Award will be announced in May.